The Funk, The Soul & The Holy Groove


Color: Golden Red | Weight: 180 Gram

Steeped in New Orleans funk, soul, and blues-influenced rock and roll, Deltaphonic is set to release their third album, The Funk, The Soul & The Holy Groove on April 10th. The album is a mix of delicious funky grooves, rock and roll with swampy finishes, and a whole lot in between. One thing’s for sure—this band is innovative with a lot of raw talent and a bold, unique  sound.

Led by lead singer, guitarist, and songwriter Andrew T. Weekes, the band consists of Paul Provosty (lead guitar) Trenton O’Neal (drums) and Ciaran Brennan (drums), and joined by backup singer Josh Kagler, bassist Jerry “Jblakk” Henderson, and Andriu Yanovski on keys. The 10 original tracks range from wild and satirical to dark and redemptive. The band is no stranger to hard times, and present in several of the tracks is the theme of struggle and the challenge to overcome.

You gotta respect a band that thumbs their nose in humor at the music biz in their opening track, “Liars.” With gospel-inspired backing singers and a definite gritty sound, this tune is red hot New Orleans p-funk. The band is slammed tight on the rhythm with an infectious groove. A great way to open a record, “Liars” is fueled by Weekes’ edgy vocal, tight drumming and great musicianship from the entire band.

The record conjures up images of New Orleans and all its known for–the darkness, the light, and the city’s love of music. There’s satire there too, just as there is in NOLA with its ghoulish fascination with skulls and graveyards. Deltaphonic infuses their tunes with many of the city’s elements.

There’s interesting lyrics too, courtesy of Weekes, and some with uplifting insights about life and love. Just when you thought you had a song pegged, the band changes tempo and key. “Ghosts” is a perfect example, which starts off with a rock and roll feel with tasty piano, and then slides into more of an R&B/soul-ish tune with nice chord changes and plenty of solid rhythm. Artful guitar solos populate this song and the rest of the album.

Weekes has an edgy, soulful rock voice, especially on “If I Don’t Bleed” that at first glance is an up-tempo rock and roller but downshifts to a slower rock groove with the band’s trademark gospel harmonies. The song lurks in graveyards and the darker side with plenty of swamp. “I got family that can go to hell, enemies to get me through. Seems like everyone I love has an open wound.” But the lyrics get deeper than that with references to religion, drinking to excess and searching for the salve of the moment.

There’s more hill country blues-infused rock with songs like “Mississippi,” a guitar-driven tune with slide guitar and killer riffs. This band is tight, together. Again, the lyrics dig deep and the gospel-esque backings singers usher in their impact.

“See Red” closes the record, a hard-hitting rock and roll song with heavy gospel/rock vocals with growl. The track shifts into more of an uplifting rhythmic tune with one helluva guitar solo.

The Funk, The Soul & The Holy Groove could use some pulling together, but the nuts and bolts of Deltaphonic are there with great musicians and lyrics that have depth. Lead singer, songwriter, and arranger, Andrew T Weekes, has it going on—he and the band are unique, have their own identifiable style, and if this record is any indication, they are on an upward music career trajectory.

Martine Ehrenclou, Rock & Blues Muse


Side A

  1. Liars
  2. Ghosts
  3. Bad People
  4. Starlit
  5. New Mexican Rockstar

Side B

  1. If It Don’t Bleed
  2. Don’t Have to Be Good
  3. Mississippi
  4. The Denouement
  5. See Red

Format ,
Weight 16 oz
Dimensions 12 × 12 × 1 in


, , ,

Record Label