North Mississippi Allstars
Set Sail


Color: Sailor Moon Smoke | Weight: 180 Gram

Luther and Cody Dickinson started the North Mississippi Allstars in 1996 as a loose collective of like-minded second-generation musicians who shared a local repertoire and regional style. Over the years the lineup shifted by design, and each NMA record offered up a different combination of collaborators. Set Sail finds the brothers working with Jesse Williams on bass and Lamar Williams, Jr. for the first time.

Set Sail, the North Mississippi Allstars’ thirteenth album, follows 2019’s Up and Rolling, which was nominated for a Grammy Award for the Best Contemporary Blues Album in 2021. Set Sail continues the band’s tradition of creating roots music that displays remarkable variety. With their latest record, NMA are able to build upon their self-described sound of Primitive Modernism. A melding of the new and the old, traditional and futuristic, crafted lyrics and improvisational music.


All songs produced by the Dickinson Brothers
Never Want To Be Kissed produced by William Bell and the Dickinson Brothers
Mixed by Cody Dickinson
Mastered by Justin Perkins at Mystery Room Mastering (Milwaukee, WI)

John Medeski recorded by Chris Bittner at Applehead Recording Studios (Woodstock NY)
William Bell recorded by Wizard Jones at Wilbe Studios (Atlanta, GA)
Pre-production editing on Never Want To Be Kissed by Paul Taylor

All songs written by Luther Dickinson and North Mississippi Allstars
Bumpin’ by Luther Dickinson and Daniel Tashian & Never Want To Be Kissed by William Bell and North Mississippi Allstars


Side A

  1. Set Sail Pt.1
  2. Bumpin’
  3. See The Moon
  4. Outside
  5. Didn’t We Have A Time?

Side B

  1. Never Want to Be Kissed
  2. Set Sail Pt.2
  3. Juicy Juice
  4. Rabbit Foot
  5. Authentic

Format ,
Weight 16 oz
Dimensions 12 × 12 × 1 in


, , ,

Record Label


SKU NW5599

MORE FROM North West Records VIEW ALL