Greg Schatz


Color: Transparent Orange | Weight: 180 Gram

Greg Schatz’s new album, Amoebotics, sounds at times like a dystopian, futuristic concept album, but actually it tells stories of navigating insecurities and anxieties of our current world, including love, job-stealing robots and brain-eating amoebas.

The opening track, “Not Even Close,” introduces someone longing for love while grappling with low self-esteem. Musings that the robot he is building will steal his job take hold in “I’m Building a Robot” and increase into obsession with “Machines are Making Machines.” Mechanism angst gives way to a primal realization about humanity in “I’m an Animal.” Meanwhile, even as technology enters nearly every facet of life, the water supply is not safe. A cautionary tale about a brain-eating amoeba – “The Amoeba” – is followed by “All I do is Ooze,” told from the amoeba’s perspective. Ultimately a sense of calm is achieved in “The Water.”

Amoebotics is New Orleans-based songwriter and musician Greg Schatz’s 7th full album of original music, and his 1st release on vinyl. Schatz is known for well-crafted tunes with clever lyrics and melodic hooks that get stuck in your head. The CD and web based releases of Amoebotics contain shorter versions of 4 songs for radio airplay and tight schedules.

On Amoebotics, Schatz is joined by a rotating cast of characters known as The Friggin Geniuses, including some who have been with his group since 1999: Paul Santopadre(The Song Dogs, Pigeon Town) and Doug Garrison (The Iguanas, Alex Chilton, Panorama Jazz Band) on drums, Alex McMurray (Royal Fingerbowl, The Tin Men) and Dave James (Gal Holiday, Dirty Mouth) on guitars and vocals, and Dave Stover (The Festers, Bicycle Jones, Jonno) on bass.

A host of New Orleans luminaries also appear on the album, including a killer saxophone section with Jason Mingledorff (St. Paul’s Broken Bones, the Special Men, Papa Grows Funk), Mike Jenner (Eric Lindell, Johnny Sketch and the Dirty Notes) and Joe Cabral (the Iguanas, 007). Amoebotics also features Dr. Sick (Squirrel Nut Zippers, Asylum Street Spankers) on violin and singing saw, master percussionist Anthony Cuccia (aka the Night Janitor), and Paul Kemnitz (Market Band) and Tiffany Pollack (The Dapper Dandies) on vocals.


Side A

  1. Not Even Close
  2. I’m Building a Robot
  3. Machines are Making Machines
  4. I’m an Animal
  5. Mechanism

Side B

  1. The Amoeba
  2. All I Do is Ooze
  3. Protoplasm
  4. The Water

Format ,
Weight 16 oz
Dimensions 12 × 12 × 1 in


, ,

Record Label


SKU HS-005

MORE FROM Hot Spazz Records VIEW ALL